Wednesday, 24 July, 2019

Critics’ best film award goes to “The Paternal House”

TEHRAN — The controversial drama “The Paternal House” has won the award for best film at the 8th Iranian Film Critics and Screenwriters Guild Celebration.

“Thank the critics who saw that the film has the merit of receiving this award,” director Kianush Ayyari said in his acceptance speech during the award presentation ceremony at Tehran’s Eyvan-e Shams Hall on Wednesday evening.
The Ministry of Culture and Islamic Guidance has refused to authorize the film due some allegedly violence scenes.
The officials have asked Ayyari to make some modifications to the film to obtain the ministry approval for screening.
“I hope bans are lifted from all films,” he stated.
The film tells the story of a father and his young son, Mohtasham, who kill his young daughter for an unspecified dishonor.
Ayyari also received the best director award for the film.
The special jury award went to the director Shahram Mokri for his acclaimed film “Fish and Cat”, which is about a group of university students who face various problems during their trip to northern Iran.
Emerging talent Navid Mohammadzadeh won the best actor award for his role in “I’m not Angry” directed by Reza Dormishian.
He received his award from director Rakhshan Bani-Etemad and joked, “I’m not angry at all and I’m very okay!”
“I am happy that I am receiving this prize from Rakhshan Bani-Etemad and I ask her now to give me a role in one of her upcoming films. I would be so proud that I would play the role for free,” he added.
Best actress award went to Merila Zarei for her portrayal of the mother of a soldier who went missing in action in “Track 143” directed by Narges Abyar.
Babak Hamidian won the best supporting actor award for portrayal of Asghar Vesali, a commander of Iranian forces during the 1980-1988 Iran-Iraq war, in “Che”, and best supporting actress award was presented to Taraneh Alidusti for her role in “The Wedlock”.
The following is a list of other winners:
Best screenwriter: Mostafa Kiaii for “Bulletproof”
Best cinematographer: Hosein Jafarian for “Che”
Best composer: Karen Homayunfar for “Everything for Sale”
Best editor: Hayedeh Safiyari for “I’m not Angry”
Best set designer: Abbas Belondi for “Che”
Best makeup artist: Mohsen Darsanj for “Everything for Sale”
fair to share...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPrint this pageEmail this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *