Sunday, 17 February, 2019

Zarif and Kerry named winners of the Chatham House Prize 2016

epa04559787 US Secretary of State John Kerry, (L), speaks with Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif, (R), as they walk in the city of Geneva, Switzerland, 14 January 2015, during a bilateral meeting ahead of the next round of nuclear discussions, which begin on 15 January.  EPA/LAURENT GILLIERON

US Secretary of State John Kerry and Iranian Minister of Foreign Affairs Dr Mohammad Javad Zarif have been voted as the winners of this year’s Chatham House Prize.

The Chatham House Prize is presented annually to the person, persons or organization deemed by members of the Royal Institute of International Affairs to have made the most significant contribution to the improvement of international relations in the previous year.

This year, members voted for John Kerry and Mohammad Javad Zarif in recognition of their crucial roles, throughout 2015, in successfully negotiating the historic nuclear deal between Iran and the P5+1 – considered to be one of the most intractable diplomatic stand-offs in international affairs in the 21st century.

The deal was one that many thought impossible. Overcoming enormous technical complexity, entrenched domestic opposition in the United States and Iran and three decades of intense hostility between their two countries, Kerry and Zarif’s leadership and commitment, in particular, were imperative to sustaining and driving the negotiations to their successful conclusion. With the vital participation of officials from other permanent members of the UN Security Council, Germany and the EU, they secured a deal, endorsed by the UN Security Council and more than 90 countries, which was a victory for diplomacy as well as against nuclear proliferation.

About the Chatham House Prize

The Chatham House Prize is presented to the person, persons or organization deemed by members of Chatham House to have made the most significant contribution to the improvement of international relations in the previous year.

The selection process is independent, democratic and draws on the deep knowledge of Chatham House’s research teams, making the Prize a distinctive and unique award in the field of international affairs.

A short-list of nominees is selected by the institute’s three presidents from a longer list submitted by the research programmes and departments in their areas of expertise. The recipient is then determined by Chatham House’s broad membership base on a one-member, one-vote basis. The award is presented on behalf of the institute’s patron, Her Majesty the Queen, representing the non-partisan and authoritative character of the Prize.

The Chatham House Prize was launched in 2005. Previous recipients of the Prize include Burmese democracy campaigner Aung San Suu Kyi, Médecins Sans Frontières, former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, and Melinda Gates, co-founder of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.


fair to share...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPrint this pageEmail this to someone

1 Comment

  1. Amir

    October 25, 2016 at 4:15 pm

    This reminds me the song,” Love is in the air”. Now the question is how they can make it “love on the ground” for millions of Iranians and Americans, specially Iranian- American community. It is time for OFAC opening the door for all Iranians and Americans to start the mutual love again, like Zarif and Kerry one. It would be unconstitutional that one big company, like Boing, does get the green light and others don’t.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *